CEOP: Child Exploitation and Online Protection Command
Select Language >


Our Nursery and Reception classes form the Foundation Stage, which caters for children from 3-5 years old. They follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum.

Nursery and Reception at Lark Hill

The revised EYFS framework sets the standards that we follow to ensure that children have the knowledge and skills they need to start school. We focus on the Seven Features of Effective Practice and use the Development Matters as a guide to plan our curriculum. Development Matters is not a checklist of things that your child should do, rather it is guidance for adults who work with children, to help them to support and embed your child’s learning journey.

The Early Learning Goals (the knowledge, skills and understanding which young children should have acquired by the end of the reception year) are set out in the ‘Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage’

The 7 areas of learning and development are broken down into Prime and Specific areas. These are as follows;

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  • Communication and Language (C&L)
  • Physical Development (PD)

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World (UW)
  • Expressive Arts and Design

At Lark Hill we believe these 7 areas to be equally important and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development. In Nursery, we focus on behaviours for learning which are developed through the Prime Areas and supported by the Specific Areas. In Reception however, as children develop and grow through the year more emphasis is placed on developing the Specific Areas including reading, writing and maths so that children can prepare for their next stages in learning into Key Stage 1.